Faculty
Name/Title/Affiliation
ResearchContact Info
Bachvaroff

Tsvetan Bachvaroff, Ph.D.
Research Assistant Professor
UMCES-IMET

Research summary coming soon.
Bachvaroff Laboratory

bachvarofft@umces.edu
Office Room: 3046
410.234.8849

Colleen Burge, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
UMBC/UMB-IMET

Marine host-pathogen-environment interactions. Invertebrate immune response and physiology. Ocean health: an organism, environment, and human perspective.
Burge Laboratory

colleenb@umbc.edu
Office Room: 4059
410.234.8834

Chen

Feng Chen, Ph.D.
Professor
UMCES-IMET

Marine microbial ecology, microbial oceanography and biogeography, microbial diversity, genomics, and functional genomics, phage-host interactions, clean green biotechnology.
Chen Laboratory
chenf@umces.edu
Office Room: 4047
410.234.8866
Chung
J. Sook Chung, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
UMCES-IMET

Neuroendocrine regulation on crustacean physiology of molting, growth, reproduction, sex differentiation and stress responses.
Chung Laboratory
IMET Seminar Series

chung@umces.edu
Office Room: 4044
410.234.8841
Shiladitya DasSarma, Ph.D.
Professor
UMB-IMET
Microbiology, genomics, and biotechnology of Archaea.
DasSarma Laboratory
sdassarma@som.umaryland.edu
Office Room: 5047
410.234.8847
Helen Dooley, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
UMB-IMET
Research summary coming soon.
Dooley Laboratory
hdooley@som.umaryland.edu
Office Room: 4043
410.234.8837
Du
Shaojun "Jim" Du, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
UMB-IMET
Developmental biology, muscle biology and genetics.
Genetic regulation of muscle and bone development.
Zebrafish as a model organism for the study of vertebrate development.
Du Laboratory
sdu@som.umaryland.edu
Office Room: 3039
410.234.8854
Hill
Russell T. Hill, Ph.D.
IMET Director & Professor
UMCES-IMET

Symbiosis between bacteria and marine invertebrates, especially sponges.  Marine actinomycete ecology and molecular biology, microbiology of marine natural products.  Microalgae and biofuels.  Marine biotechnology.
Hill Laboratory

hill@umces.edu
Office Room: 5083
410.234.8802

Jagus
Rosemary Jagus, Ph.D.
Professor
UMCES-IMET

Translational control of gene expression, regulation of gene activity during early development, host defense against virus infection and viral countermeasures, role of protein synthesis in lactation.
Jagus Laboratory
LMRCSC Program

jagus@umces.edu
Office Room: 3037
410.234.8822
Li
Yantao Li, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
UMCES/UMBC-IMET

Algal molecular biology and biochemistry; metabolic engineering for biofuels and bioproducts; algal biotechnology and environmental bioremediation.
Li Laboratory

yantao@umces.edu
Office Room: 5051
410.234.8833
Place
Allen R. Place, Ph.D.
Professor
UMCES-IMET
Elucidation of the molecular mechanisms that permit organisms to adapt to unique diets, environments, and interactions (symbiosis), molecular basis of sex determination.
Place Laboratory
place@umces.edu
Office Room: 3044
410.234.8828
Robb
Frank T. Robb, Ph.D.
Professor
UMB-IMET
Mechanisms of heat tolerance in hyperthermophiles.
Heat shock proteins.
Robb Laboratory
frobb@som.umaryland.edu
Office Room: 5041
410.234.8870
Saito
Keiko Saito, Ph.D.
Research Assistant Professor
UMBC-IMET
Aquatic microbial ecology and aquacultural microbiology.
Two new groups of nitrogen cycle microorganisms, anaerobic ammonium-oxidizing bacteria (anammox) and ammonia-oxidizing archaea (AOA).
Development and improvement of microbial mediated waste treatment bioreactor for marine recirculating aquaculture systems (RAS).
Saito Laboratory
saito@umbc.edu
Office Room: 5043
410.234.8820
Schott
Eric J. Schott, Ph.D.
Research Assistant Professor
UMCES-IMET
Molecular detection of estuarine pathogens, molecular characterization of blue crab pathogens, viruses in the blue crab.
Schott Laboratory
schott@umces.edu
Office Room: 5043
410.234.8881
Schreier
Harold J. Schreier, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
UMBC-IMET
The nitrogen and sulfur cycles of a closed marine recirculating aquaculture system biofilter
Nitrogen fixation in the gut of a wood-eating (xylophagous) neotropical catfish.
The use of probiotic bacteria in oyster larvae hatchery and their interaction with bacterial pathogens.
Developing molecular tools for examining the biochemistry and physiology of the Planctomycetes.
Schreier Laboratory
schreier@umbc.edu
Office Room: 5042
410.234.8874
Sowers
Kevin R. Sowers, Ph.D.
IMET Associate Director & Professor
UMBC-IMET
Biology of methanogenic Archaea.
Microbial reductive dehalogenation of organochlorines.
Sowers Laboratory
sowers@umbc.edu
Office Room: 5045
410.234.8878
Vakharia
Vikram N. Vakharia, Ph.D.
Professor
UMBC-IMET
Viral pathogenesis of fish rhabdoviruses, and development of novel vaccines for economically important fish pathogens.
Vakharia Laboratory
vakharia@umbc.edu
Office Room: 5049
410.234.8880
Vasta
Gerardo R. Vasta, Ph.D.
Professor
UMB-IMET
Molecular, biochemical, structural, and functional aspects of protein-carbohydrate interactions relevant to immunity and early development.
Vasta Laboratory
gvasta@som.umaryland.edu
Office Room: 3048
410.234.8826
Vasta
Ten-Tsao Wong, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
UMBC-IMET

Molecular, cellular and applied aspects of fish germ cell biology and reproductive physiology. Biotechnology of vaccine development and large compound delivery.

Aquaculture Research Center (ARC)

twong@umbc.edu
Office Room: 5044
410.234.8876
Zohar
Yonathan Zohar, Ph.D.
Professor, Chair of Department of Marine Biotechnology
UMBC-IMET
Basic and applied aspects of fish reproductive physiology and molecular endocrinology.
Applied technologies for aquaculture and fisheries.
Recirculating marine aquaculture.
Blue crab aquaculture and biology.
Zohar Laboratory
Aquaculture Research Center (ARC)
zohar@umbc.edu
Office Room: 3041
410.234.8803
Copyright © 2011 The Institute of Marine and Environmental Technology